God, Kind?

“but how can a loving, kind God…”
finish the sentence. Send someone to hell. Allow my loved one to suffer. Extinguish a young life. Allow natural disasters. I could go on and on.

Perhaps you have heard this argument. Perhaps you use this argument. In all honesty, I’ve questioned Gods kindness and love in a few situations myself.

This post is not going to deal with the insanely misunderstood theology behind the doctrine in the above statements. That’s a post for another time and a lot more cups of coffee.

Right now, I’m running on just ONE cup of coffee. While reading this morning a verse leapt off the page at me. I love when this happens. Reminding me that Gods Word is real and alive, speaking to me in the very circumstances encircling me. It speaks because it speaks to me directly. It speaks in my joy. It whispers in my sorrow. It shouts in my anger. It addresses gently in my correcting. However it delivers the message, the miracle is that it always does. Oh, and I am thankful!

This morning, these are the words the crept off the page like vines making their way to choke my heart:

Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures throughout all generations. The Lord is faithful in all his words and kind in all his works. Psalm 145:13, ESV

While the first part gives great hope that even in a day where our kingdoms, nations, and governments seem fragile and fraudulent; God Still Reigns. This is good news. Yet, still my attention was directed to the second part of this verse (a statement not even found in some translations…bc David was quoting a passage from Daniel in the first part of the verse).

I got to admit, when I first read this I thought, “oh, yes! his words are faithful and promises are true!” But then I got to His works being kind and thought, “well, that doesn’t always seem right.” He quickly corrected me.

Candace, you cannot say I’m always faithful in words if you don’t believe ALL my words – including that all my works are kind.

ALL? Even the ones that bring trials? Even the ones that inflict suffering? The ones that hurt? This one? That one?

All. Each one. Every single one. Because my kingdom is everlasting, one that endures. That means there’s a bigger picture. One beyond your understanding. Those works, even the painful ones, that is my kindness being stretched out over you, towards you. THAT is Grace.

Do I understand all this? No. Do I fully comprehend His grace? No. Do I understand how to see things in a big picture frame of mind? No.
Do I believe Him faithful? Like none other. Do I believe Him kind? Well, I don’t believe him a liar, so, yes. Yes, He is kind.

Now for that second cup of coffee.

Leave a comment